NORTH MAC COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #34 Regular Board of Education Meeting North Mac High School Media Center 231 West Fortune Street, Virden, IL 6:30 p.m. – April 27, 2022

1. Call to Order – Roll Call

Present – Alexander, Christopher, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays

Absent – Kirk

Also Present – Dr. Jay Goble, Jon Langellier, Rob Horn, Chris Raynor, John Downs, Randi Anderson, Debbie Poffinbarger, Michael Riffey, Janett Elliot, Pat Tackett, Bill Tackett, Debbie Butler, Taylor Edwards, Connie Schroeder, Aprille Kuhar

- 2. Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Hays
- 3. Communications
 - 3.1 Administrator's Reports Chris Raynor thanked Christopher for his help with the camera for track. Nichols thanked Sarah Kline for the email inviting board members to spring concert.
- 4. Public Comment None
- **5.** Motion was made by Nichols, seconded by Christopher to approve the consent agenda as presented. Yea Votes: Christopher, Alexander, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays

*Consent Agenda (ALL ITEMS ITALICIZED AND IN BOLD)

- *5.1 Approval of Minutes from Building Committee Meetings of March 2, 2022 and March 16, 2022, Special Board Meetings of March 7, 2022 and March 30, 2022, and the Regular and Executive Session of March 23, 2022
- *5.2 Financial Reports
- *5.3 Bills Payable
- 6. Employment and Resignation of Personnel**
 - *6.1 Approve the Employment of Kara Grafton as Music Teacher
 - *6.2 Approve the Employment of Emma Griffith as Teacher
 - *6.3 Approve the Employment of Joel Kopecky as Custodian
 - *6.4 Approve the Employment of Misty Coonen as Secretary
 - *6.5 Approve the Employment of Jamie Reside as Clerical Aide
 - *6.6 Approve the Employment of Staci Hays as Special Education Teacher
 - *6.7 Accept the Resignation of Abigail Walls as 2024 Class Sponsor
 - *6.8 Accept the Resignation of Julia Garrison as High School Cheerleading Coach
 - *6.9 Approve Updated Contract for Teresa Jorn District Payroll Clerk
 - *6.10 Approve Updated Contract for Sarah Raynor Curriculum Director
 - *6.11 Approve Updated Contract for John Downs Principal
 - *6.12 Approve Updated Contract for Jon Langellier Technology Director
 - *6.13 Approve Marshall Pressler as Head MS Softball Coach
 - *6.14 Approve Emma Griffith as Assistant MS Softball Coach
 - *6.15 Approve Ross Bryll as Volunteer MS Softball Coach
 - *6.16 Approve Jessica Price as Volunteer MS Softball Coach

**Note: Final employment of all new employees is contingent on the successful completion of a criminal background check.

7. Old Business

7.1 Motion was made by Christopher, seconded by Alexander to approve the alternate bid #1 for roofing replacement work from Roofing Associates: boiler room and weight room. Goble stated that bid for repair was more expensive than originally estimated. Goble recommended approving bid for replacement that would include warranty. Yea Votes: Nichols, Alexander, Christopher, Spann, Watson, Hays

8. New Business

- 8.1 Motion was made by Spann, seconded by Nichols to approve the updated official pay schedule. Raynor explained this was being proposed to make North Mac comparable to the South Central Conference. See Attached. Yea Votes: Watson, Alexander, Christopher, Nichols, Spann, Hays
- 8.2 Motion was made by Alexander, seconded by Christopher to approve 2022-2023 IESA membership. Yea Votes: Christopher, Alexander, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays
- 8.3 Motion was made by Spann, seconded by Nichols to approve the purchase of a 2007 Thomas Minotour Bus 14 passenger. Yea Votes: Alexander, Christopher, Kirk, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays
- 9. Superintendent's Report & Board Discussion Items None
- 10. Motion was made by Nichols, seconded by Spann to adjourn to closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, discipline or evaluation of personnel, student discipline, litigation or potential litigation, to discuss the potential purchase of real estate, and to discuss collective bargaining issues. Yea Votes: Alexander, Christopher, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays

Motion was by Alexander, seconded by Watson to return to open session at 9:08 pm. Yea Votes: Alexander, Christopher, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays

11. Motion was made by Spann, seconded by Watson to adjourn at 9:08 pm. Yea Votes: Alexander, Christopher, Nichols, Spann, Watson, Hays